wfg-translation-fb-no-sub-web
WFG-translation-text-pages-ProgramThree_web

Image: A Common Experience de Shane Belcourt

Looking Backward and Moving Forward  / Regarder derrière nous et aller de l’avant

Canadian Films for French Audiences – 55 minutes (films by Indigenous artists)

Thursday, June 6th 2019 6:30 pm
Free and open to all

Location: Le Labo, 401 rue Richmond St. ouest / West, Studio 277, Toronto ON M5V 3A8

Le Labo is pleased to present the Winnipeg Film Group‘s touring program. For the event, our programming committee chose films by Indegenous artists Looking backward and moving forward.
The screening will be followed by a discussion with Shane Belcourt (participating artist) and Simon M. Bénédict (Labo member).

You will find more information on this link.


Shane Belcourt is an award-winning and two-time CSA-nominated filmmaker based in Toronto, Canada. As a writer and director on many Indigenous works, in both narrative and factual, Shane has a vested interested in creating works that speak to his Métis heritage. Notable work includes the feature film Tkaronto; shorts such as A Common Experience, Keeping Quiet, and Pookums; the dance-documentary Kaha:wi – The Cycle of Life (2015 CSA Best Direction Nomination); and two Historica Canada Minutes Chanie Wenjack and Naskumituwin (Treaty). Recent works include the award-winning 2018 CBC Firsthand documentary Indictment (co-directed with Lisa Jackson; 2017 imagineNATIVE Best Documentary), the music documentary series AMPLIFY for APTN (series creator, executive producer, and show-runner), and the dramatic feature Red Rover (co-writer, director). He is an alumna of the TIFF Talent Lab and NSI’s Totally Television programs, and a member of the DGC. For more information on Shane Belcourt, check out his website.

Simon M. Benedict is an artist and translator of Franco-Québécois and Abenaki descent working with video, sound, still images, and text. His work combines audiovisual material and documents from various archives to examine how fictional and historical narratives inform and stem from our understanding of unmediated reality.
Simon M. Benedict holds an MFA in Studio Art from the University of Guelph (2016) and a BFA with major in photography from Concordia University, in Montreal (2011). His work has been exhibited in Canada, Europe, and the United States, including recently at Trinity Square Video (Toronto, 2019), YYZ Artists’ Outlet (Toronto, 2018), Evans Contemporary (Peterborough, 2018), VU (Quebec City, 2018), Dazibao (Montreal, 2018), and NRW-Forum Düsseldorf (2018). He has participated in residencies at the National Film Board, Le Labo, Artscape Gibraltar Point, the Banff Centre, and Skol. He has received grants from the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, and the Toronto Arts Council. He is based in Toronto.

wfg-translation-fb-no-sub-web
WFG-translation-text-pages-ProgramThree_web

Looking Backward and Moving Forward  / Regarder derrière nous et aller de l’avant
55 minutes (des films par des artistes autochtones) 

Jeudi 6 juin 2019 18h30
Gratuit et ouvert à tous·tes

Lieu : Le Labo, 401 rue Richmond St. ouest / West, Studio 277, Toronto ON M5V 3A8

Programme de courts métrages canadiens pour les spectateurs francophones

Suivie d’une discussion en compagnie de Shane Belcourt (artiste participant) et Simon M. Benedict (membre du Labo).

Le Labo est heureux de présenter le programme en tournée du Winnipeg Film Group. Pour l’occasion, notre comité de programmation a choisi les films par des artistes autochtones Regarder derrière nous et aller de l’avant.

Vous trouverez sur ce lien plus d’information sur le programme, les films et les artistes.

Image: A Common Experience de Shane Belcourt


Shane Belcourt est un cinéaste primé et mis en nomination deux fois au Prix des Écrans Canadiens (PÉC). Basé à Toronto, au Canada, cet écrivain et réalisateur de nombreuses œuvres autochtones, tant narratives que factuelles, Shane s’intéresse de près à la création d’œuvres qui témoignent de son héritage métis. Son travail remarquable inclut le long métrage Tkaronto; des courts métrages tels que A Common Experience, Keeping Quiet et Pookums; le documentaire de danse Kaha: wi – The Cycle of Life (Nomination 2015 meilleure direction du PÉC); et deux procès-verbaux Historica Canada, Chanie Wenjack et Naskumituwin (Treaty). Parmi ses œuvres récentes, citons le documentaire primé 2018 CBC Firsthand Firsthand Indictment (co-réalisé avec Lisa Jackson; 2017 imagineNATIVE Best Documentary), la série de documentaires musicaux AMPLIFY pour APTN (créateur de la série, producteur exécutif et animatuer de la série), Red Rover (co-scénariste, réalisateur). Il est un ancien élève des programmes TIFF Talent Lab et Totally Television de NSI, et membre de la DGC.

Simon M. Benedict est un artiste et traducteur d’ascendance franco-québécoise et abénakise travaillant avec la vidéo, le son, les images fixes et le texte. Ses œuvres amalgament du matériel audiovisuel et des documents tirés de diverses archives afin d’étudier comment notre perception directe de la réalité influe et découle de récits fictifs et historiques.
Simon M. Benedict détient une maîtrise en beaux-arts de l’Université de Guelph (2016) et un baccalauréat en beaux-arts avec spécialisation en photographie de l’Université Concordia, à Montréal (2011). Son travail a été présenté dans des expositions au Canada, en Europe et aux États-Unis, dont récemment à Trinity Square Video (Toronto, 2019), YYZ Artists’ Outlet (Toronto, 2018), Evans Contemporary (Peterborough, 2018), VU (Québec, 2018), Dazibao (Montréal, 2018), et NRW-Forum Düsseldorf (2018). Il a participé à des résidences à l’Office Nationale du Film, au Labo, à Artscape Gibraltar Point, au Banff Centre, et Skol. Il est récipiendaire de bourses du Conseil des arts du Canada, du Conseil des arts de l’Ontario, et du Toronto Arts Council. Il est basé à Toronto.